The call to CMC is a call to service in the Church. With the view of social upliftment of the people the sisters of this province have embarked upon the following activities.
Sisters visit the houses of drunkards and counsel them ,provide them with chances to participate in the retreats and provide monetary help for their de-addiction, medical treatment and rehabilitation. Sisters also actively participate in Dharnas undertaken for anti-liquor activities.
In collaboration with JESUS FRATERNITY a group of sisters have ventured into the field of jail ministry. They visit prisons and counsel the prisoners, help to rehabilitate those of the prison and help the family of prisoners. A House named SNEHABHAVAN for the boy children of the prisoners have been started in Thrikkakkara to help complete their school studies.
In response to the cry of the poor and the abandoned we began orphanages in the following places attached to our convents namely St. Marys Convent Ernakulam, St. Teresas Convent Koonammave, Infant Jesus Convent North Parur, and Mt. Carmel Convent Vaikom. Balikaram is a home away from home to provide shelter to the poor children with facilities to grow physically, mentally and spiritually. 300 girls are staying in our Balikarams.
Besides Vimala Province runs various Financial Assistance Projects like VIMALA SAHAYANIDHI, a recurring deposit scheme which helps for the marriage of poor girls, JOB ORIENTED EDUCATION LOAN SCHEME (revolving fund) which helps to complete the professional education, HOUSING AID PROJECT which helps to complete the construction of houses by giving economic assistance.
CHAVARA SOCIAL CENTRE KUMBALAM is a social work project of the province ie; a SCOOBEE DAY BAG STITCHING UNIT in collaboration with KITEX for making the women employed and self reliant.
Our sisters animate SHG GROUPS, render their services in OLD AGE HOMES and CCB (a rehabilitation centre for blind girls). Besides, 4 Technical centres like cutting and tailoring centers and one computer centre are run by our sisters at Koonammavu, Muttom, Kandanadu, and Manappuram.